Mythomyopia

« Prends-moi ! Je suis ta Pérsephone » André Gide

 

Eventually every Mother has to let her

little girl out to play and some,

like me, don’t come back but,

raped into darkness, abjure daylight

preferring the gloom of closed curtains until the

pounding on the door lets me know my

Mother has found me, admits her to his

dark bargain, to my place in his bed as

I get to go out and play again, leaving her

waving goodbye with her feet in the air.

 

 

And hey! Spring begins and

men are easy at any time but

especially when they see me as a

field of flowers just begging to be

pollinated, and so willing! Well it is my

métier to be fruitful but did

any of them ever wonder

why, as I wafted out with their seed, the

vase of wilted flowers bloomed again and the

black bananas in that ugly bowl became

yellow and ripe?

 

 

So many beds, so much seed to

germinate, but Spring and Summer

never last long enough do they? Too soon the

nights draw in and I am drawn, unwilling, to that

surprisingly mundane semi to take the place of my

Mother on the crusted bed, contemplating the

cracked ceiling, the cycle of the Earth, the

chance of seed taking, the

myth behind reality, the

reality behind myth.

 

 

I was the seed, the pomegranate, the

sour grenade you thought was safe, until I

showed you the pin between my

perfect teeth.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • J Matthew Waters  On December 11, 2012 at 2:32 am

    amazing work. going to read once more before tweeting.

  • claudia  On December 11, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    nice weave of myths, relationship and psychology with a twist in the closure..

  • ladypandorah  On December 19, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Very much enjoyed reading this, reminds me somewhat of a mixture between Margaret Atwood’s Penelopiad and Carol Ann Duffy’s poetry.

    LP x

  • short stories diary  On March 19, 2013 at 4:49 am

    I enjoyed reading your poem ~ the way you weave the myth into your own story. I love it! One of my favorite poets, Evan Boland, came to mind. She’s Irish and very lyrical and mythical in her writing.

    Thanks ~ 😉

  • The Course of Our Seasons  On April 26, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    Well done – the persephone myth has been one of my faves too – and love your take on this – a touch of the spring rites, rituals of rape and sex for a fruitful year – and then the turn in the final stanza – very cool! K

    • fridayam  On April 26, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      I love that we have both approached myths through the everyday, since those myths still live on , don’t they?

  • The Course of Our Seasons  On April 26, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Yes, they do – guess that’s why we still read and think and write about them! I look forward to reading more of your work – K

  • Pleasant Street  On September 1, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    Powerful!

Leave a Reply

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

LittleSwitchBitch - An Irish Lass blogging about all things sex

Irish Sex Blogger • Lover of Kink, Lingerie, Strong Coffee & Sunshine •

cleareyedgirl

moments : words : images

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Lapsed Catholic Wife

Rediscovering pleasure. 2016 Adventures of an Ashley Madison female

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Back in Stilettos Again

diary of a San Francisco serial dater

Let It All Go

Leaving behind the expectations of pure innocence in these musings.

Sex Is My New Hobby

does what it says on the tin... (18+)

vpache

This and That

My First Five Years

My first five years in Shanghai

The Other Livvy

My secret alter ego...

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

